Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 24th Mar 2016 at 11:08 PM
First attempt at a core mod crashing at load
Hi, I am a brand-new modder on TS3 and first-time poster on MTS (but longtime fan). I have some experience coding but not a lot with these tools. My head is bursting with ideas, but unfortunately, I feel like my hands are a little clumsy.

I'm a fan of the NRaas mods and have had a lot of fun with Woohooer. One of the things it does is enable romantic interactions between closely-related Sims. I thought, that's pretty fun; but one of the things I noticed is that though the interactions are available, the rest of the game, such as the Dreams and Promises system, doesn't treat the Sims as any other romantic couple. Though Woohooer allows some autonomous interactions, they don't "want" each other; they don't have dreams to kiss each other, etc.

Hacking through the core, I find what I think is the culprit: IsSufficientlyRelatedToRuleOutRomance in Sims3.Gameplay.Socializing.Genealogy. The game submits budding romantic dreams, among other things, to this function, and kills them before they happen. It's a simple boolean function, so I thought, hey, it shouldn't be hard to make this always return false. Hence, my first attempt at a core mod. (Yes, it's an incest mod. Don't judge, yo.)