Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Top Secret Researcher
Original Poster
#1 Old 30th Sep 2016 at 7:24 PM
Default Game slows to a crawl.
I am playing a modified version of Mayfield Springs (??); a large world. I was running NRAAS SP and some other mods.

Well, when my sim married and I started playing 3 sims rather than 1, the game slows down to a stop. I was hoping this new "gaming" laptop could handle it, but it doesn't. It has a graphics card in it rather than the usual Intel graphics simulation, and 8 gigs memory, but the processor is i5 rather than i7.

I think my sim is going to have to get divorced for technical reasons.

I've been going through some of NRAAS' suggestions for performance increases, like replacing SP with Register. Nope. Still hangs. I'm thinking there's too many people in the world and it doesn't have to do with 3 sims vs 1 sim. Yeah, I should have limited immigration. Is it too late now to fix that?

Any suggestions? Like a smaller world? Maybe try and go into edit mode and get rid of some of the populated lots? I'm not sure I can do that given that it slows down really quick after starting.

I think I lost my save.
Advertisement
Inventor
#2 Old 30th Sep 2016 at 8:00 PM
"i5 rather than i7": It doesn't matter. For PC gaming, a quad-core, high-clock speed i5 is better in terms of price/performance than an i7 equivalent.