Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Mad Poster
Original Poster
#1 Old 5th Jan 2017 at 8:59 PM
Default My Sims' residence kinda sucks
So this house kinda sucks, it doesn't look very good and there are a number of things about it that don't make sense. I didn't entirely build it myself, but despite that I've rebuilt and refurnished every part of it several times over. And it still kinda sucks.
And the reason that really needs to be fixed is because this isn't just a house, it's THE house. The one that I've been playing in since 2014, the one that I've probably spent a thousand hours in since then.

So, there's a number of problems I'm having. Here's two of them.

1. There's too much redundant space/I don't know what to do with this much room
Two adult women live in this house. They both have hobbies, but they sleep in the same bed and they never have guests over overnight. The house should also look like it's going to be ready for a kid that's coming a couple of months from now.
So here's the floor plan. I've marked living areas/lounges in red, and bathrooms in blue for a bit of distinction. As you can see, there's way too much living space.

2. It just looks weird on the outside
It's a 64x64 lot, but I planned it out to be way larger. So I've had to shrink the contents of what I imagine is an 80x80 or a 96x96 lot down to 64x64. Which makes the whole thing look a bit cramped.
But the house itself doesn't make sense either, I think it looks as if it's out of balance. There's nothing wrong with it's basic shape, but I think it just doesn't look like a real celebrity mansion.
This is also my biggest difficulty with Build Mode, I just don't have the spatial awareness to build anything in balance.