Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 8th Sep 2013 at 10:30 AM
I think I've discovered why EA Story Progression has gotten worse.
Firstly, before I get onto the topic at hand, greetings! I'm not quite one for introduction topics, but I'm a long time lurker and, frustrated with my computer not being able to handle Twallan's StoryProgression mod I've been looking at modding the EA Story Progression and I've discovered something I think may be of note.

I'm quite new to Sims 3 modding, but I have experience with XML in general (from games such as Civilization IV) and I'm an experienced game developer, so I recently started playing around with the XML scripts that control EA's Story Progression, intending to try and make it a little more likely to actually force townies to have kids and get married instead of simply moving in new families to populate my town.

As some of you probably know, EA Story Progression has gotten gradually weaker since the game's inception: it used to have no problem randomly spawning babies, for example, but some time around the Pets patch (at least, this is when I noticed) it got toned down considerably. Townies now seem to only reproduce very randomly and relationships never seem to progress beyond Romantic Interest.

As far as I can tell, the main XML that handles EA's Story mode is the Demographics.xml. This section in particular seems to contain all the functions related to handling the town's population:

Code:
[<Actions>
  <Name>Create Household</Name>
  <Multiplier>1.5</Multiplier>
  <Category>1</Category>
  <Delay_Min>1</Delay_Min>
  <Delay_Max>2.5</Delay_Max>
 </Actions>
<Actions>
  <Name>Create and Move In</Name>
  <Multiplier>2</Multiplier>
  <Category>1</Category>
 </Actions>
<Actions>
  <Name>Emigrate Household</Name>
  <Category>1</Category>
 </Actions>