Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 31st Oct 2008 at 8:24 PM
Default Gambrel Roof
Is there a tutorial around for creating Gambrel (barn) roofs? I've found a couple barns/lots and downloaded them thinking I could 'reverse engineer' what had already been created - no such luck. I know there's a solution for this as someone has already done it - but I just can't figure out how. I'm not a newbie when it comes to creating roofs, but this one seems to have me stumped.
Advertisement
#2 Old 31st Oct 2008 at 8:38 PM
I don`t know how to use the constrainFloorElevation cheat, exactly, but I`ve seen enough to know that it would work for this.

Dig a roof-shaped hole in the ground, lay a level floor above it, and fill in the hole. When you turn the cheat on and off, however, I don`t know. There are roofing tutorials that mention this, however; I`ve seen some, but don`t recall the details.

This Space Intentionally Left Blank
Test Subject
Original Poster
#3 Old 31st Oct 2008 at 8:57 PM
I've made great domed roofs using the dig-a-hole constrainfloorelevation cheat. :-) The gambrel/barn roof is a bit different though. It's not an arched or domed roof. My reverse engineering showed me that it's made of two different sections. The top piece is a low gabel roof sitting on two side pieces that are slightly sloped inward. They look like roof, do not seem to be walls, and don't seem to be bits or pieces of any maxis roof types. The top gabel is easy - the side roof pieces - that's what I can't figure out.
#4 Old 31st Oct 2008 at 9:13 PM