Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 6th Aug 2014 at 7:02 PM
Default Help with Tinkering Skill Rate
Since there aren't many objects that aid in gaining Tinkering enthusiasm, I decided to try my hand at adding it to Dr Pixel's Skill Motor. I managed to get it added, finally, but the rate that it increases is too fast. I think it's 1 tick every sims half an hour. lol I'm a huge newb at bhav modding, and have been going over Echo's tutorials but haven't been able to figure out how to get this fixed. Would someone mind taking a look? Thank you
Attached files:
File Type: rar  DPXLskillMotor042207MESH.rar (61.2 KB, 7 downloads) - View custom content
Advertisement
*shrugs*
retired moderator
#2 Old 7th Aug 2014 at 1:04 AM
Quote:
A parameter is a value that is given to a BHAV by the BHAV that calls it, specifying something about the way that it is
supposed to run. For example, in the "Skill - Start" global, it takes parameters that specify what skill is being earned, how
fast it is being earned, which object the sim is using to earn the skill, and if there are any personality bonuses that need to
be applied (ie - outgoing sims might get a bonus in charisma building). The function calling this BHAV can specify all of
these values, and then the BHAV which is called will modify its behaviour based on them. If you want to know how it
does this, then read "Data Types for Simantics Users".

Open the instruction wizard, and you'll see boxes where you can select values. Make sure that "New Format" is selected
at the top, so you can choose what sort of values you are passing to the function. (If "Old format" is checked, all values
will be treated as literals).