Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 13th Jan 2021 at 5:59 PM
Default How much do you leave up to autonomy?
Recently I've been messing around in a test neighborhood, trying to find a balance of playstyles that I enjoy most.. I ended up moving some townies into uni and when I started playing them I decided on a whim to just.. watch what they do. I ended up giving them barely any directions for a while, I let them take care of their needs how they wanted to and only intervened when things were a bit too dull by inviting some friends/lovers over, sending them to community lots or completing wants that I thought were interesting.

Doing it this way made me feel like I really got to know the characters. I kind of enjoy leaving them to take care of their own needs because it leads to some funny situations- like that one guy who doesn't shower as much as he should.. Yes Orlando, I'm talking about you. <_< I found it really funny, how he'd be stinking up the place and yelling at me about it but then in stead of going to shower he would go and play pool or something. Not every time of course, but it happened pretty frequently and I just thought that was so silly and fun. Had I been managing their needs myself they would all be doing pretty much perfectly and that's not always fun.