Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Scholar
Original Poster
#1 Old 14th May 2010 at 1:00 PM Last edited by jonha : 14th May 2010 at 1:12 PM.
Default [Global Script Mod] Test Tube Babies
This is my first attempt at making a script mod.

This mod allows your sims to get a DNA sample from themselves at the hospital.

Then you can put this sample into the inventory of another sim, who can then use it to get pregnant, without needing to woohoo or having a relationship at all.
Additionally you can adjust the gender of the baby because the DNA probe will either contain an X or an Y Chromosome.

Now I need your feedback:
- Should a sim be able to get pregnant with his own DNA? Currently it's possible and a sim will essentially clone himself.

- Any idea how the DNA sample should look like in game? Currently it's a rubber ducky . Maybe someone can even create a model for me?

- Currently it's made in a (sort of) realistic way. Females can of course get pregnant with male DNA as usual. Additionally females can get pregnant with female DNA, but this can only result in girls, because there is no Y-Chromosome, of course. Males can't get pregnant, female teens can although I may adjust that.

- Currently there is no restriction on who can create a DNA sample and who can use it. For example you can get a baby with your daughters DNA, with your grandfathers or even with your own, as already said. This may result in a very weird genealogy tree. Any opinions on this?

- Any idea for additional gameplay options? I'm thinking of a sperm bank and the option to get pregnant with some random DNA. Maybe you have some better suggestions...

Please posts your enhancement ideas so I can finish this soon. Here are some screen shots of the current mod, and yes, I will capitalize the interactions.

New interaction at hospitals

DNA sample has been made