Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Lab Assistant
Original Poster
#1 Old 4th Dec 2020 at 8:45 AM Last edited by Fluse : 5th Dec 2020 at 11:29 AM.
Default FPS limiter - external program needed? (SOLVED)
Hello everyone, I don't know where to post this and I am really confused. I hope someone could help me... it's about the FPS i read a lot. I am not very good at handling pc stuff, so please be kind to me^^ soooo... I've read everywhere that the fps can increase up to 600 to 800 on newer graphics cards, while only max 60 should be ok. Everyone is talking about external programs which limit fps, but i don't understand?? under the graphics tab (i think) in the game options you can actually limit fps (59, 60 and standard or something like that). Why does everyone need an external program to limit their fps? I have a graphics card from 2018 and I needed to make the game recognize it, does that mean i need an external program too? I only play in fullscreen if that makes a difference. I am so confused and I would appreciate if someone could explain to me what's going on!
Advertisement
Mad Poster
#2 Old 4th Dec 2020 at 9:00 AM
That setting in the built-in Game Options does nothing to limit frame rates. TS3 has no functional built-in fps limiter. Getting a card formally recognized so that it picks up a suitable set of defaults is fine to do, but it's not always necessary nor does that have anything to do with frame rates either.

First, determine the refresh rate of your monitor. Right-click on your desktop (this assumes Windows and not Mac), then Display Settings > Advanced Display Settings and it's one of around six things showing there, the one in Hz. Most monitors/screens are 60 Hz, so the goal is to stay at or below 60 fps, some can run higher.