Hi there! You are currently browsing as a guest. Why not create an account? Then you get less ads, can thank creators, post feedback, keep a list of your favourites, and more!
Quick Reply
Search this Thread
Test Subject
Original Poster
#1 Old 11th Nov 2020 at 11:13 PM
Default BYO Apartment mod - Where to start?
Hey everyone!

So, I'm new to modding and I realize this is probably a big task for a new modder. I've been wanting to join the modding community for a while and I feel like this is just the thing to pull me in. Plus I have some experience with Python and I'm looking for ways to practice it. I've followed a few tutorials on the basics and I'm hoping I have a good idea of what this modding process is going to look like.

I want to write a mod that allows the user to build their own apartments.

Here are my goals for the mod, along with some smaller goals I assume will be necessary to meet the bigger goals (I'm sure there will be plenty more, this is just from my initial research):
  • The user must be able to change the lot assignment from residential to apartment and back again.
    Requirements:
    • Unhide the Apartment lot type
    • Make sure there is handling for a change from apartment to residential.
  • I hope to use EA's apartment picker mechanics for adding households from the map.
    Requirements:
    • The lot must be uninhabited when adding or removing apartments so that no stand-in is required for doing this in build mode
  • The user will create an apartment by grouping each room in a lot into either an apartment or a common area.
    Requirements:
    • A button on the build mode UI which will allow the user to manage the apartments on the lot (i.e. define a new apartment, delete an apartment definition and add all rooms to another, etc.)
    • Some new buttons on the UI that pops up when a room is selected. I'm thinking a dropdown that lists the common area and each defined apartment. The user will select which one the room will belong to.